Nancy Zakon To Receive The 2023 Izaak Walton Award



AMFF announces Nancy Zakon to receive the 2023 Izaak Walton Award.


AMFF announces Nancy Zakon to receive the 2023 Izaak Walton Award, online on March 13 at 8:00PM EST, followed by a celebratory reception on March 14 at the Key Largo Anglers Club. The Zoom portion will be the story-telling stage for some of our greatest female pioneers:

Mary Bloom
Fanny Krieger
Sara Low
Lori-Ann Murphy
Joan Wulff

Nancy, as past President of the International Women’s Fly Fishers, instructor in Orvis’ first women’s flyfishing schools, a designer of Orvis’ first women’s flyfishing gear, founder of Juliana’s Anglers and Sporting Club of New York City, and Bonefish Bonnies of Key Largo, FL, has been a trailblazer for women in fly fishing.

The American Museum of Fly Fishing established the Izaak Walton Award in 2014 to honor and celebrate individuals who live by the Compleat Angler philosophy. Their passion for the sport of fly fishing and involvement in their angling community provides inspiration for others and promotes the legacy of leadership for future generations. Past winners include:

2022 – Paul Bruun
2021 – Paul Dixon
2020 – Flip Pallot
2019 – Tom Rosenbauer
2018 – Rachel Finn
2017 – Jim Klug
2016 – James Prosek
2015 – Tom Davidson
2014 – Ed Jaworowski

We hope you will save the dates and plan to join us virtually, in person, or both! Further details to follow in the new year, but if you have any immediate questions, please email us at


Learn More On The Event Page


American Museum of Fly Fishing
4070 Main Street
Manchester, Vermont 05254
Tel. +1 802-362-3300


Also look at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *