Joseph Grigely Named 2023 Austin Hogan Award Recipient



Joseph Grigely has been named the recipient of the museum’s 2023 Austin Hogan Award. The award, which recognizes exemplary contributions to the American Fly Fisher, was established in 1985 to honour the memory of Austin Hogan, who founded the museum’s journal in 1974.


Joseph Grigely Named 2023 Austin Hogan Award Recipient


Grigely received the award for “Edward Hewitt and the Neversink Skater,” which ran in the Spring issue. Hewitt’s Neversink Skater was never sold by any retailer—anglers had to order it from Hewitt or figure it out how to tie it themselves. With the discovery of a copy of Martin Bovey’s film Hewitt on the Neversink and late-1930s letters from Hewitt to Harry Darbee, it became possible for Grigely to piece together a more detailed history of this perplexing fly.

Grigely is an artist, writer, and lifelong angler whose art can be found in collections that include the Tate Modern, London; the Stedelijk, Amsterdam; Kunsthaus, Zurich; and both MoMA and the Whitney in New York. He has a DPhil from Oxford University and is professor of visual and critical studies at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.


Read The Article In TAFF Now


American Museum of Fly Fishing
4070 Main Street
Manchester, Vermont 05254
Tel. +1 802-362-3300

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *